Biathlon World Cup

Publication date: 17 Jan 2023

About the Biathlon World Cup

The Biathlon World Cup is an annual series of major biathlon events for men and women, managed by the International Biathlon Union (IBU). There are several types of biathlon competitions:

  • Individual;
  • Sprint;
  • Pursuit;
  • Mass start;
  • Relay;
  • Mixed relay;
  • Single mixed relay.

The men’s World Cup has been held for the first time since the 1978-79 season and the women’s World Cup nine years later.

There are nine stages in a World Cup season, which usually lasts from November to March.

The ranking is based on the results of the disciplines and the total points. The overall leader of the competition has a yellow jersey while the leader of a discipline has a red jersey.

Official website of the IBU

2023-24 BMW IBU World Cup

The 2023-24 Biathlon World Cup will kick off on 25 November 2023 in Östersund, Sweden. On 17 March 2024, the last round of the season will take place in Canmore, Canada. 30 countries will participate in the Biathlon World Cup.

In the 2023-24 season, the BWC stages will be held in the following cities:

  • Östersund (Sweden)
  • Hochfilzen (Austria)
  • Lenzerheide (Switzerland)
  • Oberhof (Germany)
  • Ruhpolding (Germany)
  • Rasen-Antholz (Italy)
  • Nové Město na Moravě (Czech Republic)
  • Holmenkollen (Norway)
  • Salt Lake City (USA)
  • Canmore (Canada)

Cup History

The Men’s Biathlon World Cup was held for the first time in the 1978-79 season, the Women’s Biathlon World Cup has been held since the 1987-88 season. In the first men’s season biathletes competed in four stages: Ruhpolding (Germany), Rasen-Antholz (Italy), Sodankylä (Finland), Bardufoss (Norway). 

The Biathlon World Cup quickly became one of the most popular winter sports in the world. In the early years of the World Cup, athletes from Germany and Norway dominated.

In recent years, the Biathlon World Cup has become more competitive. It is won by athletes from different countries.

Results of the previous competitions

Year Venue Winning team
2022-23 Started in Finland, ended in Norway Overall standings:

Men – Johannes Thingnes Bø

Women – Julia Simon

2021-22 Started in Sweden, ended in Norway Overall standings:

Men – Quentin Fillon Maillet

Women – Marte Olsbu Røiseland

2020-21 Started in Finland, ended in Sweden Overall standings:

Men – Johannes Thingnes Bø

Women – Tiril Eckhoff

2024-25 BMW IBU World Cup

The next BMW IBU World Cup season will tentatively start on 24 November 2024 in Östersund, Sweden. On 16 March 2025, the last round of the season will take place in Hochfilzen, Norway.

Keep an eye on the dates of the men’s and women’s biathlon competitions and other events in our Sporting Events Calendar.

Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

Read more

The America Cup (CONMEBOL Copa América) is the premier men’s football tournament among South American […]

The EWC is the first edition of the Esports World Cup, which replaces the Gamers8 […]

The Russian Super Cup (sponsored name: OLIMPBET Russian Super Cup) is a football competition that […]

The European Athletics Championships is the largest international event in the world of athletics. This […]

The WPT Prime Sanremo is one of the most prestigious poker events in the world, […]

The BRICS Sports Games is an international multi-sport event that brings together athletes from many […]

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is one of the most exciting and popular competitions […]

The Francophonie Games (Jeux de la Francophonie) are international sporting competitions. They bring together countries […]

The World Series of Poker (WSOP) is one of the most prestigious and famous events […]

The EuroLeague is an annual competition of European professional men’s basketball clubs. Turkish Airlines is […]