World Rugby Sevens Series

Publication date: 11 Jan 2023

About the World Rugby Men’s Sevens Series

The HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series is an annual International Rugby Sevens Series tournament for men’s national teams, run by the International Rugby Board. HSBC has been the main sponsor of the tournament since 2014. An important difference between Rugby 15 and Rugby 7 is that the latter features 7-player teams and halves of 7 minutes each. There are currently 16 teams taking part in the tournament.

Official website

2022-23 World Rugby Sevens Series season

The 24th season of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series kicked off on 4 November 2022 and will finish on 21 May 2023. Teams taking part in the current season of the World Rugby Men’s Sevens Series are Argentina, France, Kenya, Spain, Australia, Great Britain (consisting of athletes from England, Scotland, Wales who have agreed to play as one team), New Zealand, USA, Canada, Ireland, Samoa, Uruguay, Fiji, Japan, South Africa. Games are played in stadiums in the following cities:

  • Hong Kong;
  • Dubai;
  • Cape Town;
  • Hamilton;
  • Sydney;
  • Los Angeles;
  • Vancouver;
  • Singapore;
  • Toulouse;
  • London.

History of the World Rugby Sevens Series

The first international Rugby Sevens tournament was held in Scotland in 1973 and featured 7 teams, with England defeating Ireland 22-18 in the final.

For the first season, the World Rugby Sevens Series took place in 1999/2000. This was an important start to the rise of rugby as a sport.

The New Zealand team has won six consecutive seasons.

In the history of the World Series, Team New Zealand have won 13 times, while teams from South Africa and Fiji have won 4 times each.

Winners of the previous World Rugby Sevens Series seasons  

The year Venue Winning team
2021/2022 Dubai, Málaga, Seville, Singapore, Vancouver, Toulouse, London, Los Angeles Australia national rugby union team 
2021 Vancouver, Edmonton South Africa national rugby union team
2019/2020 Dubai, Cape Town, Hamilton, Sydney, Los Angeles, Vancouver  New Zealand national rugby union team 

2023-24 World Rugby Sevens Series season

Information on dates and venues for the 25th season of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series is not yet known.

Keep an eye on the dates of rugby tournaments and other events in our Sporting Events Calendar.

Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

Read more

A long weekend is coming up! It’s a good time not only to relax, but […]

Artificial intelligence, or neural networks, is the new internet reality. It seems to be everywhere: […]

The first month of 2024 brought so much news at once! In January, new laws […]

What events will take place in February 2024? 3S.INFO has prepared a selection of the […]

Digital technology and virtual entertainment culture are evolving every year. Esports events have already become […]

February 2024 is the month of major sporting events, including the World Cup finals, the […]

The World Aquatics Championships (formerly called the FINA World Championships) is the largest competition in […]

Intel Extreme Masters Katowice, one of the most prestigious and exciting esports tournaments in the […]

SBC Summit Rio will take place on 5-7 March in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Join […]

AFRICA GAMING EXPO 2024 brings together Gaming and Lottery Innovators, Operators, Regulators and other Gaming […]