Men’s European Volleyball Championship

Publication date: 21 Jul 2023

About the Men’s European Volleyball Championship

The Men’s European Volleyball Championship is an international volleyball tournament among men’s national teams of Europe. The tournament is held every two years, under the direction of the European Volleyball Confederation (CEV). Italian national team is the reigning champion, winning the title for the 7th time.

A similar women’s event is called the Women’s European Volleyball Championship.

CEV official website

2023 Men’s European Volleyball Championship

The 34th Men’s European Volleyball Championship will be held in Italy, Bulgaria, Northern Macedonia and Israel from 28 August to 16 September 2023. 24 teams will take part in the championship. It is already known that volleyball matches for prizes will be played on the courts of Rome on 14 and 16 September.

History of the European Volleyball Championship among men’s national teams

The first world championship of this format was held in 1848. It was attended by 6 national teams. The Czechoslovak national team won the gold medal. For some time, the teams of the USSR and Czechoslovakia were the main contenders for victory and fought zealously for the gold medal. The Soviet Union’s team won 9 consecutive games between 1967 and 1987.

For the entire history of the European Championship, the national teams of Italy and the USSR showed the best results.

Italian athletes accounted for 7 victories; the USSR national team (hereinafter Russia) was the champion 14 times.

The current format of the competition consists of a qualification stage, lasting 2 years and thanks to which the list of teams participating in the finals of the European Championship becomes known. This stage lasts for 2 weeks and 24 teams compete in it.

Results of the previous Men’s European Volleyball Championships

The year Venue Results/ Place
2021 Poland, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland 1st place – Italy

2nd place – Slovenia

3rd place – Poland

2019 France, Slovenia, Belgium, Netherlands 1st place – Serbia

2nd place – Slovenia

3rd place – Poland

2017 Poland 1st place – Russia

2nd place – Germany

3rd place – Serbia

2025 Men’s European Volleyball Championship

At the moment, information about the venues and dates of the next Men’s Europeаn Volleyball Championship is not yet known.  

Keep an eye on the dates of the European Volleyball Championships and other events in our Sporting Events Calendar.


Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

Read more

A long weekend is coming up! It’s a good time not only to relax, but […]

Artificial intelligence, or neural networks, is the new internet reality. It seems to be everywhere: […]

The first month of 2024 brought so much news at once! In January, new laws […]

What events will take place in February 2024? 3S.INFO has prepared a selection of the […]

Digital technology and virtual entertainment culture are evolving every year. Esports events have already become […]

February 2024 is the month of major sporting events, including the World Cup finals, the […]

The World Aquatics Championships (formerly called the FINA World Championships) is the largest competition in […]

Intel Extreme Masters Katowice, one of the most prestigious and exciting esports tournaments in the […]

SBC Summit Rio will take place on 5-7 March in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Join […]

AFRICA GAMING EXPO 2024 brings together Gaming and Lottery Innovators, Operators, Regulators and other Gaming […]