Women’s European Volleyball Championship

Publication date: 21 Jul 2023

About the Women’s European Volleyball Championship

The Women’s European Volleyball Championship is a biennial international volleyball tournament for women’s national teams in Europe. The tournament is held under the auspices of the European Volleyball Confederation (CEV). Italy is the reigning champion team, defending its title for the third time. A similar event among men is called the Men’s European Volleyball ChampionshipThe men’s and women’s championships are held in the same year, around the same time.

CEV official website

2023 Women’s European Volleyball Championship

The 33rd CEV Women’s European Championship in Volleyball will be held from 15 August to 3 September at several playing venues in the cities of Belgium, Estonia, Italy and Germany. 24 national women’s teams will take part in the tournament. The Swiss team got a ticket to the championship instead of the Russian team, which was suspended from participation. Matches for prizes will be held in Brussels on 1 and 3 September.

History of the Women’s European Volleyball Championship

The first Women’s European Volleyball Championship was organized in 1947 in Prague. At that time, the Czechoslovak national team earned the gold medal. Until 1973, volleyball tournaments were run by the European Volleyball Commission. In most cases, the tournaments were held in halls, except in 1949, 1950, 1955 and 1958. During these years, the tournaments were played on outdoor courts. Previously, the European Championships were conducted every 4 years, but since 1975, they have been held every two years, on odd-numbered years.

In the history of the tournament, it has been attended by teams from 40 countries. 9 of them became the winner of the tournament.

The national team of the Soviet Union won 7 consecutive titles from 1958 to 1979.

After the collapse of the USSR, the Russian national team continued to be the leader in Europe. There are 19 victories on the account of our country’s team (13 of them from the USSR team). Next on the list are Italy and Serbia, they have 3 gold medals each. Poland and East Germany have 2 victories each.

Results of the previous Women’s European Volleyball Championships

The year Venue Results/ Place
2021 Serbia, Bulgaria, Croatia, Romania 1st place – Italy

2nd place – Serbia

3rd place – Turkey

2019 Turkey, Poland, Hungary, Slovakia 1st place – Serbia

2nd place – Turkey

3rd place – Italy

2017 Azerbaijan, Georgia 1st place – Serbia

2nd place – Netherlands

3rd place – Turkey

2025 Women’s European Volleybаll Championship

There is currently no information available for the next Women’s European Volleyball Championship.  

Follow the dates of the European Volleyball Championships and other events in our Sporting Events Calendar.


Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

Read more

On 14 September 2023, the Chamber of Deputies of Brazil approved the government’s gambling bill. […]

From 2024, Sweden will intensify its fight against illegal operators. The local regulator Spelinspektionen will […]

About the Qatar Grand Prix The Qatar Grand Prix is one of the rounds of […]

The ultimate question of life, the universe and everything: how to get high conversion and […]

About the NFL The National Football League (NFL) is the largest professional league in American […]

In September 2023, new figures on the state of the Kenyan gambling market have emerged: […]

August has passed and brought a lot of new and interesting things. On 3S.INFO we […]

On 1 September 2023, the Ministry of Finance published new figures: for 7 months (and […]

About the European Baseball Championship The European Baseball Championship (Eurobaseball) is the main tournament among […]

About the Cup of the 100th Anniversary of National Volleyball The BETCITY Centennial Cup is […]