24 Hours of Le Mans

Publication date: 07 Jun 2023

About the 24 Hours of Le Mans

The 24 Hours of Le Mans is the legendary and most famous endurance car race that tests the endurance of cars and drivers alike. Races are held near the city of Le Mans in France. The car which covers the most distance in 24 hours is proclaimed the winner of the competition. Moreover, this victory does not mean achievement of an individual car, but of the entire manufacturer’s brand and with it an increase in sales. Interesting fact: the champagne shower tradition originated in the 1967 race, when Dan Gurney and A.J. Foyt jokingly showered journalists and company president Henry Ford with champagne for not believing the pilots would win.

The 24 Hours of Le Mans is one of the stages of the Triple Crown of motorsports. Indy 500 and Monaco Grand Prix races are next. 

Official website of 24 Le Mans

2023 24 Hours of Le Mans

This is an endurance car race commemorating the 100th anniversary of the first 24 Hours of Le Mans to be held on 10 and 11 June at the Circuit de la Sarthe in France. According to preliminary information, 62 cars will take to the start:

  • 16 hypercars;
  • 24 LMP2 cars;
  • 21 LMGTE Am cars;
  • 1 car of “Innovation class”.

In spite of the fact that full list of participants wasn’t announced, it is already known that 5 women will take part in the jubilee race, and also 12 winners of 24 Hours of Le Mans of previous seasons.

History of the 24 Hours of Le Mans endurance race

The first Le Mans race happened in 1923, with 33 teams taking part. André Lagache and René Léonard won the first edition. Since then, the 24 Hours of Le Mans has been held annually in June. To this day, the race remains the most prestigious endurance race in the world. Furthermore, the history of the 24 Hours of Le Mans has contributed to the development and progression of automobile technology every year.

The Circuit de la Sarthe is 13.6 km long. In 1988, Roger Dorchy also set a speed record on one section of the track as he reached 405 km/h in his car. 

The fastest lap belongs to the Japanese road racer Kamui Kobayashi, who covered the track in 3 minutes and 14 seconds in the 2017 qualifying session.

Previous 24 Hours of Le Mans race results

The year Venue Results
2022 Circuit de la Sarthe, Le Mans (France) Car: Toyota GR010 Hybrid

Drivers: Sébastien Buemi, Brendon Hartley, Ryō Hirakawa

2021 Circuit de la Sarthe, Le Mans (France) Car: Toyota GR010 Hybrid

Drivers: Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi, José María López

2020 Circuit de la Sarthe, Le Mans (France) Car: Toyota TS050 Hybrid

Drivers: Sébastien Buemi, Brendon Hartley, Kazuki Nakajima

2024 24 Hours of Le Mans

At the moment, there is no information about the dates of the next 24 Hours of Le Mans endurance race yet. Preliminary information is that BMW and Lamborghini are planning to compete in the race in 2024. 

Keep an eye on the dates of races and other events in our Sporting Events Calendar.


Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

Read more

On 14 September 2023, the Chamber of Deputies of Brazil approved the government’s gambling bill. […]

From 2024, Sweden will intensify its fight against illegal operators. The local regulator Spelinspektionen will […]

About the Qatar Grand Prix The Qatar Grand Prix is one of the rounds of […]

The ultimate question of life, the universe and everything: how to get high conversion and […]

About the NFL The National Football League (NFL) is the largest professional league in American […]

In September 2023, new figures on the state of the Kenyan gambling market have emerged: […]

August has passed and brought a lot of new and interesting things. On 3S.INFO we […]

On 1 September 2023, the Ministry of Finance published new figures: for 7 months (and […]

About the European Baseball Championship The European Baseball Championship (Eurobaseball) is the main tournament among […]

About the Cup of the 100th Anniversary of National Volleyball The BETCITY Centennial Cup is […]