World Team Table Tennis Championships

Publication date: 15 Aug 2022

About the World Team Table Tennis Championship

The World Table Tennis Championships among teams is a competition between the best table tennis players and it takes place every 2 years. Chinese table tennis players have been leading the pack since 2005.

2024 World Table Tennis Championships

World Team Table Tennis Championship – the 58th World Table Tennis Championship under the auspices of the ITTF will be held in Busan (South Korea) from February 16 to 26, 2024. Sets of medals will be competed among men’s and women’s teams. Teams that reach the quarter finals qualify for the 2024 Summer Olympics.

History of the championships

The first World Table Tennis Championship was held in December 1926 in London’s Memorial Hall. Initially it was supposed to be a European Championship, however as eight athletes from India showed up for the event, it was decided that it should be a world championship.

With every championship the competition program expanded and in subsequent years women competed in singles, doubles and team events. Till 1957 the championships were held annually, while after 1959 they were held biennially due to the European Championships.

Results of the previous competitions

The year Venue Results
2021 Houston (USA) men’s singles – Fan Zhendong (China);

women’s singles – Wang Manyu (China);

men’s doubles – Christian Karlsson (Sweden)/ Matthias Falk (Sweden);

women’s doubles – Wang Manyu (China) / Sun Yingsha (China);

mixed doubles – Wang Chuqin (China)/Sun Yingsha (China).

2019 Budapest (Hungary) men’s singles – Ma Long (China);

women’s singles – Liu Shiwen (China);

men’s doubles – Ma Long (China)/ Wang Chuqin (China);

women’s doubles – Wang Manyu (China)/Sun Yingsha (China);

mixed doubles – Xu Xin (China)/ Liu Shiwen (China).

2017 Dusseldorf (Germany) men’s singles – Ma Long (China);

women’s singles – Ding Ning (China);

men’s doubles – Xu Xin (China)/ Fan Zhendong (China);

women’s doubles – Ding Ning (China)/ Liu Shiwen (China);

mixed doubles – Maharu Yoshimura (Japan)/Kasumi Ishikawa (Japan).

2026 World Table Tennis Championships

At the moment, only preliminary information is known about the location of the next championship – London.

Keep an eye on the dates of the table tennis championships and other events in our Sports Events Calendar.

Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

Read more

VALORANT Champions is an annual Valorant esports tournament, the final part of the Valorant Championships […]

The America Cup (CONMEBOL Copa América) is the premier men’s football tournament among South American […]

The EWC is the first edition of the Esports World Cup, which replaces the Gamers8 […]

The Russian Super Cup (sponsored name: OLIMPBET Russian Super Cup) is a football competition that […]

The European Athletics Championships is the largest international event in the world of athletics. This […]

The WPT Prime Sanremo is one of the most prestigious poker events in the world, […]

The BRICS Sports Games is an international multi-sport event that brings together athletes from many […]

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is one of the most exciting and popular competitions […]

The Francophonie Games (Jeux de la Francophonie) are international sporting competitions. They bring together countries […]

The World Series of Poker (WSOP) is one of the most prestigious and famous events […]