Wimbledon Championships

Publication date: 15 Aug 2022

About the Wimbledon Championships

The Wimbledon Championships (Wimbledon) is an international tennis tournament, one of four Grand Slam tournaments. It takes place every year in late June/early July with five divisions: five for adults, four for juniors and four for wheelchair users. Wimbledon is covered every year by various TV and radio programs as well as by many newspapers and magazines, which is why its popularity is phenomenal.

Official website of the Wimbledon Championships

2023 Wimbledon Championships

The date for the 2023 Wimbledon Championships is now set for 3-16 July.

History of the Wimbledon Championships

The first tennis tournament dates back to 1877. It involved 22 tennis players competing in the men’s singles. The tournament lasted 4 days, with the final match attracting 200 spectators. Spencer Gore, a local shopkeeper was crowned champion of the first tournament.

Foreign competitors first appeared in 1884. At the same time, the men’s division was supplemented by women’s and mixed. In 1913, the tournament attained World Championship status. Interest in the competition especially increased in 1937, when it began to be televised.

Results of the previous Wimbledon championships

The year Venue Results
2022 All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club (AELTC), Wimbledon (England) men’s singles – Novak Djokovic (Serbia);

women’s singles – Elena Rybakina (Kazakhstan);

men’s doubles – Matthew Ebden (Australia) / Max Purcell (Australia);

women’s doubles – Barbora Krejčíková (Czech Republic) / Kateřina Siniaková (Czech Republic);

mixed doubles – Desirae Krawczyk (USA)/ Neal Skupski (Australia).

2021 All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club (AELTC), Wimbledon (England) men’s singles – Novak Djokovic (Serbia);

women’s singles – Ashleigh Barty (Australia);

men’s doubles – Nikola Mektić (Croatia) / Mate Pavić (Croatia);

women’s doubles – Hsieh Su-wei (Taiwan)/ Elise Mertens (Belgium);

mixed doubles – Neal Skupski (Great Britain)/ Desirae Krawczyk (USA).

2020 All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club (AELTC), Wimbledon (England) It was cancelled due to coronavirus pandemic


Interesting facts about the Wimbledon Championships:

  • Purple and green are the colours of Wimbledon. And that’s because since 1988, Wimbledon is the only Grand Slam tournament that takes place on grass courts;
  • One of the Wimbledon traditions is the white colour of the athletes’ uniforms during the tournament;
  • The male winners receive a trophy in gilded silver and the women a silver tray.

The 2024 Wimbledon Championships

This 2024 tournament will be held from 1 July 2024 to 14 July 2024.

Keep an eye on the dates for tennis tournaments and other events on our Sports Events Calendar.

Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

SUBSCRIBE Enter your email to get
weekly news

    Read more

    ProTraffic Gambling Days, the first gambling and betting show conference, will take place on 13 […]

    TikTok is one of the big services for creating short videos. The ByteDance company launched […]

    By 2027, the size of the online gambling market will increase by $150.5 billion, an […]

    In March 2023, Ukrainian authorities approved a package of sanctions against 120 individuals and 287 […]

    In February, Telegram developers fixed more than 400 different flaws in its apps for various […]

    Russia is constantly developing amendments to existing laws or creating new ones. Every draft law […]

    One of the main drivers of the entire global online gambling market is the penetration […]

    In 2022, 81% of Russians used the Internet. At the same time, 78% of Russians […]

    Moldova is a very interesting country to promote casinos and betting in Europe. Formally, it […]

    Telegram announced the launch of a new automated advertising platform named Nativity. The new service […]