Primeira Liga

Publication date: 05 Sep 2022

About the Primeira Liga

The Primeira Liga (Liga Portugal Bwin) is a competition among Portuguese professional football clubs involving 18 teams. It takes place annually.

Official website of the Liga Portugal Bwin

2022/2023 Primeira Liga

The 89th season of the Primeira Liga started on 5 August 2022 and ends on 28 May 2023. More than 15 cities in the country host the tournament. FC Porto is defending its league title.

History of the Liga Portugal Bwin

The first Liga Portugal Bwin took place in 1922 under the name Campeonato de Portugal.

In 1934, the Campeonato da Liga da Primeira Divisão was set up. FC Porto was the first Primera Liga champion. During the history of the Portuguese football championship, the team has 30 wins under its belt. Only S.L. Benfica has more victories than FC Porto – 37. The top scorer of the Primera Liga in the 1934-35 season is Manuel Soeiro of FC Sporting CP.

The name of the Primeira Liga has been in use since 1999 to the present day.  

Results of the previous seasons of the Liga Portugal Bwin

The year Venue Results/ Winning team
2021/2022 Portugal FC Porto
2020/2021 Portugal Sporting CP
2019/2020 Portugal FC Porto

2023/2024 Primeira Liga

The dates and venues of the next season of the Liga Portugal Bwin are still being finalized.

Keep an eye on the dates of football tournaments and other events in our Sports Events Calendar.

Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

Read more

The National Basketball Association (NBA) is a professional basketball league in the United States and […]

About the Chinese Grand Prix The Chinese Grand Prix is a colourful F1 sporting event […]

ABOUT THE UFC The Ultimate Fighting Championships is an international sports organization dedicated to mixed […]

The African Games are a series of sporting events in which African countries participate to […]

Major League Baseball (MLB) is one of the most popular and exciting leagues in the […]

The PGL CS 2 Major Copenhagen is a major international Counter-Strike: Global Offensive (CS:GO) tournament […]

About the AFC U-20 Women’s Asian Cup The AFC U-20 Women’s Asian Cup is an […]

The World Aquatics Championships (formerly called the FINA World Championships) is the largest competition in […]

Intel Extreme Masters Katowice, one of the most prestigious and exciting esports tournaments in the […]

About the Gagarin Cup The Gagarin Cup is an annual sporting event held as part […]