Men’s European Water Polo Championship

Publication date: 22 Aug 2022

About the Men’s European Water Polo Championships

The Men’s European Water Polo Championship is an international men’s water polo tournament. It takes place every 2 years under the auspices of the LEN. The reigning European champions are Hungary, Montenegro and Spain.

2022 Men’s European Water Polo Championship

The Men’s European Water Polo Championship will be held from 29 August to 10 September in Split, Croatia. This is the 35th edition of the men’s water polo tournament.

On 28 August 2020, LEN announced that Croatia would be the host country for the upcoming water polo tournament.

Russia was excluded from the list because of the invasion of Ukraine.

The tournament will feature 16 teams, which will be divided into 4 groups. The finals will take place on September 10.

History of the European Water Polo Championship

The history of the European Water Polo Championship begins in 1926 when the first tournament took place in Budapest, Hungary. For the first time, the women’s championship was held in 1985 in Oslo, Norway.

The water polo tournament was part of the European Aquatics Championships until 1997. Since 1999, the tournament became independent and started to be held separately.

Filip Filipović is a Serbian athlete, the most decorated water polo player in the history of the European Championships.

The most titled coaches were Boris Popov (USSR), Ratko Rudić (Croatia), Dejan Savić (Yugoslavia, Serbia).

The Hungarian national water polo team became European champion 13 times.

Previous European Water Polo Championship results

The year Venue Results/ Places
2020 Danube Arena, Hungary 1 Hungary

2 Spain

3 – Montenegro

2018 Piscines Bernat Picornell, Spain 1 Serbia

2 Spain

3 – Croatia

2016 Kombank Arena, Serbia 1 Serbia

2 – Montenegro

3 Hungary

European Water Polo Championships 2023

On 13 May 2022, LEN announced that for the first time the European Men’s Water Polo Championship will be held in Israel in 2023. The dates of the championships are still being finalized.

Keep an eye on the dates of the water polo championships and other events in our Sports Events Calendar.

Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

Read more

On 14 September 2023, the Chamber of Deputies of Brazil approved the government’s gambling bill. […]

From 2024, Sweden will intensify its fight against illegal operators. The local regulator Spelinspektionen will […]

About the Qatar Grand Prix The Qatar Grand Prix is one of the rounds of […]

The ultimate question of life, the universe and everything: how to get high conversion and […]

About the NFL The National Football League (NFL) is the largest professional league in American […]

In September 2023, new figures on the state of the Kenyan gambling market have emerged: […]

August has passed and brought a lot of new and interesting things. On 3S.INFO we […]

On 1 September 2023, the Ministry of Finance published new figures: for 7 months (and […]

About the European Baseball Championship The European Baseball Championship (Eurobaseball) is the main tournament among […]

About the Cup of the 100th Anniversary of National Volleyball The BETCITY Centennial Cup is […]