ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

Publication date: 23 May 2024

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is one of the most exciting and popular competitions in the world of cricket. It is held every 2 years under the auspices of the International Cricket Council (ICC). Every time this event brings a lot of emotion and excitement to the participants and fans all over the world.

The official website

2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

The 9th edition of the ICC T20 Cricket World Cup will be held from June 1 to 29. For the first time, the championship will be held in two countries – USA and West Indies. There will be 20 prominent teams, including the USA as they are the organizers of the event. In May, the teams announced their teams. Moreover, the teams have already been divided into sub-groups among themselves:

India, Pakistan, Canada, Ireland, USA – Group A;

England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman – Group B;

New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Papua New Guinea, Uganda – Group C;

South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal, Netherlands – Group D.

In addition, the names of all the referees have also been announced. They are David Boon (Australia), Jeff Crowe (New Zealand), Ranjan Madugalle (Sri Lanka), Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe), Richie Richardson (West Indies), Javagal Srinath (India).

History of the competition

The first ICC Men’s T20 World Cup was held in 2007 in South Africa. At that time, the Indian team snatched victory from Pakistan in the final part of the competition.

Over the course of time, the number of teams has constantly expanded and contracted. From the original 12 teams to the current 20.

The winners of the competition are presented with a trophy, which has been specially designed, made up of silver and rhodium.

Team England are the reigning champions. In 2022, they beat the Pakistan team in the final.

The outstanding athletes of this tournament so far are: AB de Villiers (South Africa), Virat Kohli (India), Chris Gayle (Jamaica). All of them, throughout their careers, have surprised fans and spectators with their professionalism and outstanding play.

Tournament results for the past three years 

Year Venue Winning team
2022 Australia England (second championship)
2021 UAE, Oman Australia (first championship)
2016 India West Indies (second championship)

2026 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

All that is known about the next tournament is that it will be co-hosted by India and Sri Lanka. 20 teams are expected to participate. Furthermore, the competition will only grow in size. The dates for the next ICC T20 Cricket World Cup will be announced at a later date.

Follow the dates of cricket tournaments and other events in our Sporting Events Calendar.

Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

Read more

The European Athletics Championships is the largest international event in the world of athletics. This […]

The WPT Prime Sanremo is one of the most prestigious poker events in the world, […]

The BRICS Sports Games is an international multi-sport event that brings together athletes from many […]

The Francophonie Games (Jeux de la Francophonie) are international sporting competitions. They bring together countries […]

The World Series of Poker (WSOP) is one of the most prestigious and famous events […]

The EuroLeague is an annual competition of European professional men’s basketball clubs. Turkish Airlines is […]

The National Basketball Association (NBA) is a professional basketball league in the United States and […]

About the Chinese Grand Prix The Chinese Grand Prix is a colourful F1 sporting event […]

ABOUT THE UFC The Ultimate Fighting Championships is an international sports organization dedicated to mixed […]

The African Games are a series of sporting events in which African countries participate to […]