Grand Prix of Sao Paulo. Formula 1

Publication date: 15 Aug 2022

About the Sao Paulo

The Sao Paulo (formerly called the Brazilian Grand Prix) is a stage of the Formula One World Championship, having been held annually since 1973. Currently, it is held at the Autódromo José Carlos Pace (Interlagos Circuit). 

Starting in 2021, this stage changed its name and began to take place at the Autodromo José Carlos Pace circuit.

Official F1 website

Sao Paulo Grand Prix 2023

Sao Paulo Grand Prix 2023: Formula 1 will take place on November 5th.

History of motor racing in Brazil

Emerson Fittipaldi is the driver who started motor racing in Brazil. Indeed, it was thanks to him that the first unofficial Brazilian Grand Prix took place in 1972.

The first official Brazilian Grand Prix took place in 1973, with Fittipaldi as the winner.

Throughout the history of the Brazilian Grand Prix, motor racing has gone from one circuit to another.

Eventually, the Brazilian Grand Prix returned to a revamped Interlagos in 1990.

With the renewal of Formula 1, the Brazilian Grand Prix acquired one interesting feature when the winner of the race became world champion for the season. During that time, Michael Schumacher has won four times at Interlagos, Mika Hakkinen twice, Damon Hill and Jacques Villeneuve once each. 

From 2021, this stage has changed its name to the “Grand Prix of Sao Paulo”.

Previous Brazilian Grand Prix results

The year Venue Results
2021 the Autódromo José Carlos Pace, Brazil Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes team)
2020 the Autódromo José Carlos Pace, Brazil It was cancelled due to coronavirus pandemic 
2019 the Autódromo José Carlos Pace, Brazil Max Verstappen (Red Bull Racing-Honda team)

2024 Grand Prix of Sao Paulo

According to preliminary information, the 2024 Sao Paulo Grand Prix will be held from November 1 to 3.

Keep an eye on the dates of the F1 Grand Prix and other events in our Sports Events Calendar.

Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

Read more

The Francophonie Games (Jeux de la Francophonie) are international sporting competitions. They bring together countries […]

The World Series of Poker (WSOP) is one of the most prestigious and famous events […]

The EuroLeague is an annual competition of European professional men’s basketball clubs. Turkish Airlines is […]

The National Basketball Association (NBA) is a professional basketball league in the United States and […]

About the Chinese Grand Prix The Chinese Grand Prix is a colourful F1 sporting event […]

ABOUT THE UFC The Ultimate Fighting Championships is an international sports organization dedicated to mixed […]

The African Games are a series of sporting events in which African countries participate to […]

Major League Baseball (MLB) is one of the most popular and exciting leagues in the […]

The PGL CS 2 Major Copenhagen is a major international Counter-Strike: Global Offensive (CS:GO) tournament […]

About the AFC U-20 Women’s Asian Cup The AFC U-20 Women’s Asian Cup is an […]