FEI World Equestrian Games

Publication date: 17 Aug 2022

About the FEI World Equestrian Games

The World Equestrian Games is the world’s largest international equestrian championship. It is organized by the International Federation for Equestrian Sports (FEI). The first FEI World Equestrian Games took place in 1990. From that time onwards it is held every four years on even-numbered years, between the Summer Olympic Games.

 2022 FEI World Championships

The 2022 FEI World Championships is being held from 6 to 14 August in Herning, Denmark.

The following disciplines are taking place at the venues:

  • Dressage (individual special dressage, individual freestyle dressage, team dressage);
  • Jumping (individual and team jumping, men’s and women’s vaulting, pas-de-deux vaulting);
  • Para-dressage (individual and team dressage).

History of the World Equestrian Games

The idea of the World Equestrian Games originated in the mid-1980s. It was supported by Prince Philip, who was the President of the FEI at the time. He was called the Patriarch of equestrian sport. He had a passion for horses. So, he served as President of the FEI for 22 years. Prince Philip left a legacy of updated equestrian competition rules, as well as a great contribution to the formation of the International Federation for Equestrian Sports.

Throughout the history of the Equestrian World Championships, the venue and country have always been different:

  • 1990: Stockholm, Sweden
  • 1994: The Hague, The Netherlands
  • 1998: Rome, Italy
  • 2002: Jerez de la Frontera, Spain
  • 2006: Aachen, Germany
  • 2010: Lexington, USA: first championships held outside of Europe.
  • 2014: Normandy, France
  • 2018: North Carolina, USA
  • 2022: Herning, Denmark.

Previous World Equestrian Games results

The year Venue Results/Medals by country
2018 Tryon, North Carolina, USA 1 – Germany (6 gold, 2 silver, 9 bronze)

2 – Netherlands (5 gold, 3 silver, 2 bronze)

3 – Great Britain (4 gold, 2 silver, 2 bronze)

2014 Normandy, France 1 – Great Britain (7 gold, 6 silver, 2 bronze)

2 – Netherlands (6 gold, 3 silver, 9 bronze)

3 – Germany (5 gold, 7 silver, 3 bronze)

2010 Lexington, USA 1 – Great Britain (9 gold, 7 silver, 3 bronze)

2 – Germany (5 gold, 5 silver, 4 bronze)

3 – Netherlands (5 gold, 3 silver, 1 bronze)

2026 World Equestrian Games

Information on the 2026 World Equestrian Games is still being finalized.

 Keep an eye on the dates of Equestrian Championships and other sporting events in our Sports Events Calendar.

Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

Read more

The National Basketball Association (NBA) is a professional basketball league in the United States and […]

About the Chinese Grand Prix The Chinese Grand Prix is a colourful F1 sporting event […]

ABOUT THE UFC The Ultimate Fighting Championships is an international sports organization dedicated to mixed […]

The African Games are a series of sporting events in which African countries participate to […]

Major League Baseball (MLB) is one of the most popular and exciting leagues in the […]

The PGL CS 2 Major Copenhagen is a major international Counter-Strike: Global Offensive (CS:GO) tournament […]

About the AFC U-20 Women’s Asian Cup The AFC U-20 Women’s Asian Cup is an […]

The World Aquatics Championships (formerly called the FINA World Championships) is the largest competition in […]

Intel Extreme Masters Katowice, one of the most prestigious and exciting esports tournaments in the […]

About the Gagarin Cup The Gagarin Cup is an annual sporting event held as part […]