Diamond League

Publication date: 25 Jan 2023

About the Diamond League athletics competition

The Diamond League (Wanda Diamond League) is a series of one-day track and field events that falls into the highest category. Competitions have been held annually from spring to autumn since 2010. Athletes from several continents such as Europe, Asia, North America and Africa take part. The league is organized by the International Association of Athletics Federation (IAAF). Diamond League’s official partners are: Adidas, Canon, Seiko, Sinopec, Toyota, TBK and VTB.

The winner of the Diamond League has to reach the final and take part in the final competition.

Official website of the Wanda Diamond League

2024 Diamond League

The 15th season of the annual Wanda Diamond League series will be held from April 20 to September 14. Competitions will kick off with a race in Xiamen (China) and end with a two-day race in Brussels (Belgium). Major league disciplines:

  • 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m, 1500m, 5000m;
  • 100 m, 400 m hurdles race;
  • The 3000-meter obstacle race;
  • Long jump, high jump, pole vault;
  • The shot put, hurling the discus and javelin throw.

History of the Diamond League

The first season of the league took place in 2010. It replaced the IAAF Golden League. The main difference between the Diamond League and the Golden League was that the Golden League was founded to promote the European Athletics competitions. Meanwhile, the aim of the Diamond League was to “take the scale of the competition beyond Europe”.

In December 2019, the name was changed to the Wanda Diamond League, the full sponsorship name.

Winners of previous Diamond League seasons

Countries by number of winners:

  1. USA – 72 medals
  2. Kenya – 44 medals
  3. Jamaica – 21 medals
  4. Ethiopia – 15 medals
  5. United Kingdom, Czech Republic – 11 medals

In the history of the Diamond League many athletes have set world records in a number of disciplines.


Discipline Name  Country 
100 and 200 metres  Yohan Blake Jamaica
400 metres   Wayde van Niekerk South Africa
800 metres  David Rudisha  Kenya 
1,000 metres  Ayanleh Souleiman Djibouti 
1500 metres   Asbel Kiprop  Kenya 


Discipline Name  Country 
100 metres  Carmelita Jeter  USA
200 metres   Tori Bowie  USA
400 metres  Shaunae Miller-Uibo Bahamas 
800 and 1,000 metres  Caster Semenya South Africa
1500 metres   Genzebe Dibaba Ethiopia 

2025 Diamond League

Information on dates and venues for the 16th Diamond League season is being updated.

Keep an eye on the dates of athletics tournaments and other events in our Sporting Events Calendar.

Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

Read more

The America Cup (CONMEBOL Copa América) is the premier men’s football tournament among South American […]

The EWC is the first edition of the Esports World Cup, which replaces the Gamers8 […]

The Russian Super Cup (sponsored name: OLIMPBET Russian Super Cup) is a football competition that […]

The European Athletics Championships is the largest international event in the world of athletics. This […]

The WPT Prime Sanremo is one of the most prestigious poker events in the world, […]

The BRICS Sports Games is an international multi-sport event that brings together athletes from many […]

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is one of the most exciting and popular competitions […]

The Francophonie Games (Jeux de la Francophonie) are international sporting competitions. They bring together countries […]

The World Series of Poker (WSOP) is one of the most prestigious and famous events […]

The EuroLeague is an annual competition of European professional men’s basketball clubs. Turkish Airlines is […]