Cricket World Cup

Publication date: 05 Sep 2022

About the Cricket World Cup

The Cricket World Cup is the most prestigious international cricket tournament for men’s national teams which is held every four years. 10 teams from different countries participate in the championship. The International Cricket Council (ICC) organizes this sporting event. The broadcast of this tournament is watched in most of the countries of the world. Moreover, according to statistics, more than 1 billion tickets for the championship matches were sold in 2015.

Cricket World Cup official website

2023 Cricket World Cup

The 13th Cricket World Cup will be held from 5 October to 19 November 2023. The list of countries participating in the championship became known in July. Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka are on the list. India is the host country. Sri Lanka and Netherlands became known through the results of the qualifying tournament. The rest of the participants qualified through the ICC Super League. In the championship, all the countries will meet each other in 48 matches.

History of the Cricket World Cup

The history of cricket as a sport, dates back to the distant 19th century. The first international match was between Canada and the United States in 1844. And in the first test match met the teams of England and Australia 33 years later. 

In 1900, cricket was added to the list of Olympic Games in Paris. It was the only time athletes at the Olympics competed in the sport.

Over time, test cricket began to grow in popularity and the number of countries that participated.

The first Cricket World Cup event was held in 1975 in England. 8 teams competed in this tournament: Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, Sri Lanka and a team from East Africa. The winner of the first championship was the team from West Indies, ahead of the Australian team.

England also hosted the next two championships whilst Sri Lanka became the host nation for the test championships.

Team Australia has won the championship five times. India and West Indies have 2 wins each to their credit. England, Pakistan and Sri Lanka were victorious in the championship once each.

Results of the previous championships

The year Venue Results
2019 England, Wales England
2015 Australia, New Zealand Australia
2011 India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh India

2027 Cricket World Cup

The dates for the next championship are still being refined, but it is already known that South Africa, Zimbabwe and Namibia are the host countries.

Keep an eye on the dates of cricket tournaments and other events in our Sporting Events Calendar.

Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

Read more

A long weekend is coming up! It’s a good time not only to relax, but […]

Artificial intelligence, or neural networks, is the new internet reality. It seems to be everywhere: […]

The first month of 2024 brought so much news at once! In January, new laws […]

What events will take place in February 2024? 3S.INFO has prepared a selection of the […]

Digital technology and virtual entertainment culture are evolving every year. Esports events have already become […]

February 2024 is the month of major sporting events, including the World Cup finals, the […]

The World Aquatics Championships (formerly called the FINA World Championships) is the largest competition in […]

Intel Extreme Masters Katowice, one of the most prestigious and exciting esports tournaments in the […]

SBC Summit Rio will take place on 5-7 March in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Join […]

AFRICA GAMING EXPO 2024 brings together Gaming and Lottery Innovators, Operators, Regulators and other Gaming […]