Chess World Cup

Publication date: 30 May 2023

About the Chess World Cup

The FIDE World Cup is a major chess tournament based on the Olympic system, which brings together the best chess players in the world. This chess event is run by the International Chess Federation and is an integral part of the qualification for the Chess World Cup.

 Official FIDE website

2023 Chess World Cup

The 10th Chess World Cup will be held in Baku, Azerbaijan from 29 July to 26 August. 206 players will take part in the tournament and the top three will be eligible to participate in the Candidates Tournament to be held in Toronto from 3 to 25 April 2024.

The World Cup tournament will consist of 8 rounds. Each round will last 3 days with two of them with a classical time limit and a third one for tie-breaks (if necessary). The total prize pool will be $1,834,000.

History of the Chess World Cup

It is worth noting that throughout the history of chess tournaments this sporting event has experienced different periods. For many years in a row, World Cup chess tournaments were held in different cities of Russia. 

The first chess tournament under the familiar name was held in 2000. At that time, the International Chess Federation (FIDE) organized the tournament. By 2002, two champions were known to the world – Vladimir Kramnik (according to PCA) and Ruslan Ponomariov (according to FIDE). The conflict between the two chess federations was resolved only in 2006, when a unification championship between Topalov and Kramnik was held.

The history of the Chess World Cup as we know it now began in 2005. Since then, the best chess players of the world started to play according to an elimination system. The winner of the first tournament was Levon Aronian. Since 2005, the Chess World Cup has been held regularly every 2 years.

The 2007 tournament was held in Khanty-Mansiysk with the same format. At that time, the prize money was divided among all the participants of the Cup.

From 2005 till 2021, 128 players took part in the tournament. The number of athletes increased to 206 from 2021.

Results of the previous Chess World Cups

The year Venue Winner
2021 Sochi, Russia  Jan-Krzysztof Duda
2019 Khanty-Mansiysk, Russia Teimour Radjabov
2017 Tbilisi, Georgia Levon Aronian

2023 Chess World Cup

Information about the dates and exact location of the 11th Chess World Cup is not available yet.

Keep an eye on the dates of chess tournaments and other events in our Sporting Events Calendar.


Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

Read more

The European Athletics Championships is the largest international event in the world of athletics. This […]

The WPT Prime Sanremo is one of the most prestigious poker events in the world, […]

The BRICS Sports Games is an international multi-sport event that brings together athletes from many […]

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is one of the most exciting and popular competitions […]

The Francophonie Games (Jeux de la Francophonie) are international sporting competitions. They bring together countries […]

The World Series of Poker (WSOP) is one of the most prestigious and famous events […]

The EuroLeague is an annual competition of European professional men’s basketball clubs. Turkish Airlines is […]

The National Basketball Association (NBA) is a professional basketball league in the United States and […]

About the Chinese Grand Prix The Chinese Grand Prix is a colourful F1 sporting event […]

ABOUT THE UFC The Ultimate Fighting Championships is an international sports organization dedicated to mixed […]