Tennis tournament Davis Cup

Publication date: 19 Aug 2022

About the Davis Cup

The Davis Cup is a major international team tennis competition for men.

It has been held since 1900 and since 1979 under the auspices of the International Tennis Federation (ITF). Teams of tennis players from different countries play against each other. Loser teams are eliminated from the tournament.

A similar tournament for women’s teams is the Billie Jean King Cup (formerly known as the Fed Cup).

Official website of the Davis Cup

2022 Davis Cup

The Davis Cup final will take place on 14-18 September (group stage) in four cities of Bologna (Italy), Glasgow (Scotland), Hamburg (Germany) and Valencia (Spain). The 16 participating teams are divided into 4 subgroups. Teams ranked first and second will qualify for the quarter-finals.

  • A (Bologna, Italy): Croatia, Italy, Argentina, Sweden;
  • B (Valencia, Spain): Spain, Canada, Serbia, South Korea;
  • C (Hamburg, Germany): France, Germany, Belgium, Australia;
  • D (Glasgow, UK): USA, UK, Kazakhstan, Netherlands.

The play-offs for the finals will be held from 23-27 November in Malaga, Spain.

The winner of the 2022 Davis Cup tournament will be decided on 27 November.

History of the Davis Cup

In 1899, four students from Harvard University decided to set up a tennis tournament in which national teams could participate. One of them was Dwight Davis. He devised a scheme for the tournament and bought a silver cup with his own money, the prize for the winner of the tournament.

The first tournament was held in 1900 in Brookline, Massachusetts, and featured teams from the USA and Great Britain. Davis played for the US team that won the tournament that year and the following year (1902).

By 1905, teams from Belgium, Austria, France and Australasia were competing in the Davis Cup.

Between 1900 and 1939 the cup was played 34 times.

The original name of the tournament was the International Lawn Tennis Challenge. After the death of Dwight Davis, the tournament was called the Davis Cup.

In its 100th year, the tournament drew national teams from 129 countries.

Results of the previous Davis Cup tournaments

The year Venue Results
2021 Madrid, Spain Russia (2:0) Croatia
2020 It was cancelled due to coronavirus pandemic
2019 Madrid, Spain Spain (2:0) Canada

2023 Davis Cup

Information on the dates and venues of the next Davis Cup is not yet available.

Keep an eye on the dates of tennis tournaments and other events in our Sports Events Calendar.

Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

SUBSCRIBE Enter your email to get
weekly news

    Read more

    In March 2023, many countries around the world continued regulating the gambling sector. The new […]

    In March 2023, the struggle against illegal casino advertising intensified in Russia.  The Association of […]

    Portugal is a country with a long experience in regulating gambling. Many years ago, the […]

    In March 2023, a new object for promotion appeared in VK Ads. Users can now […]

    Out of hundreds of news items, we’ve selected the most important and interesting ones about […]

    ProTraffic Gambling Days, the first gambling and betting show conference, will take place on 13 […]

    TikTok is one of the big services for creating short videos. The ByteDance company launched […]

    By 2027, the size of the online gambling market will increase by $150.5 billion, an […]

    In March 2023, Ukrainian authorities approved a package of sanctions against 120 individuals and 287 […]

    In February, Telegram developers fixed more than 400 different flaws in its apps for various […]