Copa Sudamericana

Publication date: 31 Aug 2022

About the Copa Sudamericana

The CONMEBOL Sudamericana (Copa Sudamericana) is an international football competition for clubs from the countries that are members of CONMEBOL. Copa Sudamericana is generally considered to be the second most important football tournament after the Copa Libertadores in South America. There are 56 teams participating in the tournament.

CONMEBOL official website

2022 Sudamericana

The 31st edition of the CONMEBOL Sudamericana takes place from 8 March to 1 October 2022. Its final match will be played at the Mario Alberto Kempes Stadium in Córdoba, Argentina.

History of the Copa Sudamericana

The first draw of the CONMEBOL Sudamericana took place in 2002.

In 2003, thanks to sponsorship by Nissan Motors, the name of the Cup was changed to Copa Nissan Sudamericana. That year, the tournament was joined by Brazilian clubs that could not participate in the first tournament due to overlapping match dates.

In 2005, clubs from CONCACAF America and Mexico were invited to participate in the Cup.

The winner of the 2006 tournament was C.F. Pachuca from Mexico.

In 2017, there was a change in the timing of the tournament, with the preliminary rounds taking place in the first half of the year. In the same year, the name was changed to the modern-day CONMEBOL Sudamericana.

Previous winners of the Copa Sudamericana

The year Venue Results/ Winning team
2021 Uruguay Athletico Paranaense
2020 Argentina Defensa y Justicia
2019 Paraguay C.S.D. Independiente del Valle

2023 Copa Sudamericana

The 22nd season of the CONMEBOL Sudamericana is tentatively scheduled to run from 7 March to 28 October 2023. The winner of the 2023 Copa Sudamericana will earn the right to play against the 2023 Libertadores Cup at the 2024 Recopa Sudamericana.

Keep an eye on the dates of football tournaments and other events in our Sports Events Calendar.

Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

SUBSCRIBE Enter your email to get
weekly news

    Read more

    Portugal is a country with a long experience in regulating gambling. Many years ago, the […]

    In March 2023, a new object for promotion appeared in VK Ads. Users can now […]

    Out of hundreds of news items, we’ve selected the most important and interesting ones about […]

    ProTraffic Gambling Days, the first gambling and betting show conference, will take place on 13 […]

    TikTok is one of the big services for creating short videos. The ByteDance company launched […]

    By 2027, the size of the online gambling market will increase by $150.5 billion, an […]

    In March 2023, Ukrainian authorities approved a package of sanctions against 120 individuals and 287 […]

    In February, Telegram developers fixed more than 400 different flaws in its apps for various […]

    Russia is constantly developing amendments to existing laws or creating new ones. Every draft law […]

    One of the main drivers of the entire global online gambling market is the penetration […]