Copa Libertadores

Publication date: 29 Aug 2022

About the Copa Libertadores

The CONMEBOL Libertadores (Copa Libertadores de América) is an annual football tournament among the best clubs in South America.

The cup is named after the historical leaders of the War for Independence of the Spanish colonies in the Americas.

There are 47 clubs taking part in the current tournament. They compete against each other for 6-8 months. There are 3 stages in total: First Stage, Second stage, Playoffs.

Official CONMEBOL website

2022 Copa Libertadores

The 63rd draw of the Copa Libertadores de América is held under the auspices of CONMEBOL from 8 February to 29 October 2022.

The final match will take place at the Estadio Monumental Isidro Romero Carbo in Guayaquil, Ecuador.

On 5 February 2021, the draw for the qualifying and group stages takes place. The teams were sorted based on the CONMEBOL club rankings.  

History of the Copa Libertadores

The first club championship in South America was held in 1948. It involved 7 South American countries. Vasco de Gama’s team from Brazil became the winner. Throughout history, the official name of the Libertadores Cup has changed 7 times. The name of the CONMEBOL Libertadores has been valid since 2018.

Club Atlético Independiente from Avellaneda, Argentina have won the Cup 7 times.

The reigning winner is the Palmeiras team from Brazil. 

Winners of the previous Copa Libertadores seasons

The year Venue Results
2021 Estadio Centenario, Montevideo, Uruguay Palmeiras (Brazil) 2:1 Flamengo (Brazil)
2020/2021 Maracanã Stadium, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Palmeiras (Brazil) 2:1 Santos (Brazil)
2019 Estadio Monumental Antonio Vespucio Liberti, Lima, Peru Flamengo (Brazil) 2:1 River Plate (Argentina)

2023 Copa Libertadores

According to preliminary information, the new season of Copa Libertadores will be held from 7 February until 11 November 2023. The new season will feature teams from 10 South American countries: Argentina, Bolivia, Colombia, Brazil, Paraguay, Chile, Ecuador, Venezuela, Uruguay and Peru.

Keep an eye on the dates of football tournaments and other events in our Sports Events Calendar.

Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

SUBSCRIBE Enter your email to get
weekly news

    Read more

    Portugal is a country with a long experience in regulating gambling. Many years ago, the […]

    In March 2023, a new object for promotion appeared in VK Ads. Users can now […]

    Out of hundreds of news items, we’ve selected the most important and interesting ones about […]

    ProTraffic Gambling Days, the first gambling and betting show conference, will take place on 13 […]

    TikTok is one of the big services for creating short videos. The ByteDance company launched […]

    By 2027, the size of the online gambling market will increase by $150.5 billion, an […]

    In March 2023, Ukrainian authorities approved a package of sanctions against 120 individuals and 287 […]

    In February, Telegram developers fixed more than 400 different flaws in its apps for various […]

    Russia is constantly developing amendments to existing laws or creating new ones. Every draft law […]

    One of the main drivers of the entire global online gambling market is the penetration […]