UEFA Europa League

Publication date: 05 Sep 2022

About the UEFA Europa League

The UEFA Europa League (UEL, the UEFA Cup) is an international annual football competition. It is considered the second most important competition for football clubs belonging to UEFA after the Champions League. The UEFA Europa League matches are played on Thursdays in the Champions League game weeks and on Wednesdays and Thursdays in the weeks when the Champions League matches are not scheduled. Depending on the venue, the matches start at 19:00 or 21:05 European time.

UEFA official website

2022/2023 UEFA Europa League

The 52nd season of the annual UEFA Europa League club competition began on 4 August 2022 and will finish on 31 May 2023. There are 32 teams in the group stage, divided into eight groups of four teams. In each group, the teams play against each other at home and away.

UEL history

The tournament was founded in 1971 and was known as the UEFA Cup. This name was valid until 2009. That year, there was a reorganization, after which the name was changed to UEFA Europa League.

The first winner of the tournament is Tottenham Hotspur F.C. from London.

26 different clubs have won the UEFA Europa League. Furthermore, Spanish club Sevilla have won the tournament six times.

After 1985 and for the next 12 seasons, Italian clubs surged ahead in football.

Until 1998, the match format was based on 2 games. In 1998, the format was changed to a one-game match on neutral ground.

Previous UEFA Europa League winners

The year Venue Results/ Winning team
2021/2022 The final match took place at the Ramón Sánchez Pizjuán stadium in Seville, Spain Eintracht Frankfurt
2020/2021 The final match took place at the Polsat Plus Arena Gdańsk, Poland Villarreal
2019/2020 The final match took place at the RheinEnergieStadion in Cologne, Germany Sevilla 

2023/2024 UEFA Europa League

The dates and venues the next UEL season are still being finalized.

According to preliminary information, the final match of the UEFA Europa League in 2023 will take place on May 31 in Budapest at the Ferenc Puskas Stadium. In 2024 – at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin, Ireland. In 2025 – at the San Mames Stadium in Bilbao, Spain.

Keep an eye on the dates of football tournaments and other events in our Sports Events Calendar.

Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

Read more

A long weekend is coming up! It’s a good time not only to relax, but […]

Artificial intelligence, or neural networks, is the new internet reality. It seems to be everywhere: […]

The first month of 2024 brought so much news at once! In January, new laws […]

What events will take place in February 2024? 3S.INFO has prepared a selection of the […]

Digital technology and virtual entertainment culture are evolving every year. Esports events have already become […]

February 2024 is the month of major sporting events, including the World Cup finals, the […]

The World Aquatics Championships (formerly called the FINA World Championships) is the largest competition in […]

Intel Extreme Masters Katowice, one of the most prestigious and exciting esports tournaments in the […]

SBC Summit Rio will take place on 5-7 March in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Join […]

AFRICA GAMING EXPO 2024 brings together Gaming and Lottery Innovators, Operators, Regulators and other Gaming […]