Tour de France

Publication date: 05 Sep 2022

About the Tour de France

The Tour de France is a prestigious annual men’s cycling race with 21 stages. The Tour de France takes place over 23 days in July, run by the Amaury Sport Organization (ASO). There are usually 20 to 22 teams of 8 riders each in the men’s Tour. There’s also a similar race for the women – Tour de France Femmes, which starts on the last day of the men’s cycle race. 

Official Tour de France website

2022 Tour de France

The 109th season of the Tour de France started on 1 July in Copenhagen, Denmark and ended on 24 July 2022 on the Champs-Élysées in Paris. The route is 3,349.8 km (2,081 miles) long. Jonas Vingegaard of Denmark’s Jumbo-Visma team won the race. The winner in the team standings was the Ineos Grenadiers team.

Tour de France history

The first Tour de France took place in 1903. It took 5 stages and went through the towns of Lyon, Nantes, Bordeaux, Marseilles and finished in Paris. Almost 80 riders took part in the first cycle race.

The format of the Tour evolved over time:

  • The first races of the Tour took place at night;
  • Initially, the route of the bicycle race followed the perimeter of France;
  • Furthermore, the length of the distance and the number of stages also changed;
  • The first rounds were open to all comers.

The main competition of the Tour de France is the general classification, which decides the winner of the race, who receives a yellow victory jersey. There is also a team classification, a points classification, a mountain classification, a young rider classification and a fighting classification.

Previous Tour de France winners

The year Venue Results
2022 France 1st place – Jonas Vingegaard

Points classification – Wout van Aert

Mountain classification – Jonas Vingegaard

Young rider classification – Tadej Pogačar

Fighting Classification – Wout van Aert

Team classification by time – Ineos Grenadiers

2021 France 1st placeTadej Pogačar

Points classification – Mark Cavendish

Mountain classificationTadej Pogačar

Young rider classificationTadej Pogačar

Fighting Classification – Franck Bonnamour

Team classification by timeBahrain Victorious

2020 France 1st place Tadej Pogačar

Points classification – Sam Bennett

Mountain classificationTadej Pogačar

Young rider classificationTadej Pogačar

Fighting Classification – Marc Hirschi

Team classification by timeMovistar Team

2023 Tour de France

The 110th edition of the Tour de France cycling road race will take place from 1 to 23 July 2023. According to preliminary information, the Tour will start in the Spanish city of Bilbao.

Keep an eye on the dates of cycling races and other events in our Sports Events Calendar.

Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

Read more

The National Basketball Association (NBA) is a professional basketball league in the United States and […]

About the Chinese Grand Prix The Chinese Grand Prix is a colourful F1 sporting event […]

ABOUT THE UFC The Ultimate Fighting Championships is an international sports organization dedicated to mixed […]

The African Games are a series of sporting events in which African countries participate to […]

Major League Baseball (MLB) is one of the most popular and exciting leagues in the […]

The PGL CS 2 Major Copenhagen is a major international Counter-Strike: Global Offensive (CS:GO) tournament […]

About the AFC U-20 Women’s Asian Cup The AFC U-20 Women’s Asian Cup is an […]

The World Aquatics Championships (formerly called the FINA World Championships) is the largest competition in […]

Intel Extreme Masters Katowice, one of the most prestigious and exciting esports tournaments in the […]

About the Gagarin Cup The Gagarin Cup is an annual sporting event held as part […]