FIFA Women’s World Cup

Publication date: 12 Aug 2022

About the FIFA Women’s World Cup

The Women’s World Cup is the official international women’s football competition held under the auspices of FIFA. It is considered the most important tournament in modern women’s football. It has been held every four years since 1991. This competition is held the year after the men’s championship.

There are 24 participating teams competing in the final, including the host team of the championship. Qualifying matches are held for three years, through which the remaining 23 participating teams are determined.

 FIFA official website

2027 FIFA Women’s World Cup

The 2027 FIFA Women’s World Cup is the 10th Women’s World Cup, which will be held in Brazil from June 24 to July 25. 32 teams will take part in the tournament.

History of the Cup

The first Women’s World Cup took place 61 years after the Men’s World Cup. For a long time, women’s football was banned, and eventually in the 1970s some countries started to form women’s national teams. In 1988 an international invitation tournament was held in China among 12 teams from all continents which was a success.

Finally, it was decided to organize the first Women’s World Cup, which was held from 16 November to 30 November 1991 in China. The teams of the USA and Norway reached the final. Then, on 30 November, they competed for the championship at the Guangzhou Stadium. For the first time in their history, the Americans became world champions, defeating the Norwegian team with a score of 2:1.

Results of the previous competition

The year Venue Results/ Places
2023 Australia, New Zealand 1 – Spain

2 – England

3 – Sweden

2019 France 1 – USA

2 – Netherlands

3 – Sweden

2015 Canada 1 – USA

2 – Japan

3 – England

2031 FIFA Women’s World Cup

Although the process of deciding where to host the next FIFA Women’s World Cup has not yet started, some countries have already announced their intention to host the tournament.

 Keep an eye on the dates of football championships and other events in our Sports Events Calendar.

Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

Read more

The America Cup (CONMEBOL Copa América) is the premier men’s football tournament among South American […]

The EWC is the first edition of the Esports World Cup, which replaces the Gamers8 […]

The Russian Super Cup (sponsored name: OLIMPBET Russian Super Cup) is a football competition that […]

The European Athletics Championships is the largest international event in the world of athletics. This […]

The WPT Prime Sanremo is one of the most prestigious poker events in the world, […]

The BRICS Sports Games is an international multi-sport event that brings together athletes from many […]

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is one of the most exciting and popular competitions […]

The Francophonie Games (Jeux de la Francophonie) are international sporting competitions. They bring together countries […]

The World Series of Poker (WSOP) is one of the most prestigious and famous events […]

The EuroLeague is an annual competition of European professional men’s basketball clubs. Turkish Airlines is […]