Brazilian Championship A Series

Publication date: 31 Aug 2022

About the Brazilian Championship A Series

The Campeonato Brasileiro Série A (Brazilian Championship A Series, Brasileirão, Brasileirão Assaí) is the Brazilian professional league for men’s football clubs. 20 teams participate in the championship. The season lasts from May to December. Each team plays all opponents twice. The teams are ranked in the standings according to wins, points and goals scored. The club with the most points wins the season. 

Official Campeonato Brasileiro Série A website

2024 Campeonato Brasileiro Série A

The 68th season of the Brazilian football championship will take place from April 13 to December 8, 2024. The matches will take place at 22 stadiums in 14 cities. 20 teams will take part in the championship. These are: Palmeiras, Gremio, Atletico Mineiro, Flamengo, Botafogo, Red Bull Bragantino, Fluminence, Atlético Paranaense, Internacional, Fortaleza, Sao Paulo SPFC, Cuiaba, Corinthians, Cruzeiro, Vasco da Gama, Bahia, Vitoria, Juventude, Criciuma, Atlético Goianience.

History of the Brazilian Championship A Series

Campeonato Brasileiro Série A was officially founded in 1971, although the Brazilian team had previously participated in several international tournaments. By 1970, the Brazilian team had won the FIFA World Cup three times.

In 1987, CBF announced a few weeks before the next Campeonato Brasileiro Série A that they could not host the tournament. As a consequence, 13 of the most popular Brazilian clubs formed a league, the Club of the 13 (Clube dos 13), to organize their own championship.

Since 2003, the Olympic system was abolished leading to a full-fledged league structure with a two-round system for determining the national winner.

Since 1971, the Sport Club Corinthians Paulista from São Paulo and Clube de Regatas do Flamengo from Rio de Janeiro have had the most trophies in the history of the Brazilian official championships, with seven each.

Previous winners of the Campeonato Brasileiro Série A

The year Venue Results/ Winning team
2023 Brazil Champion – Palmeiras;

Second place – Gremio;

Third place – Atletico Mineiro.

2022 Brazil Champion – Palmeiras;

Second place – Internacional;

Third place – Fluminense.

2021 Brazil Champion – Atletico Mineiro;

Second place – Flamengo;

Third place – Palmeiras.

2025 Campeonato Brasileiro Série A

Information on dates and venues for the next Brazilian Championship A Series season is being finalized.

Keep an eye on the dates of football tournaments and other events in our Sports Events Calendar.

Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

Read more

The European Athletics Championships is the largest international event in the world of athletics. This […]

The WPT Prime Sanremo is one of the most prestigious poker events in the world, […]

The BRICS Sports Games is an international multi-sport event that brings together athletes from many […]

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is one of the most exciting and popular competitions […]

The Francophonie Games (Jeux de la Francophonie) are international sporting competitions. They bring together countries […]

The World Series of Poker (WSOP) is one of the most prestigious and famous events […]

The EuroLeague is an annual competition of European professional men’s basketball clubs. Turkish Airlines is […]

The National Basketball Association (NBA) is a professional basketball league in the United States and […]

About the Chinese Grand Prix The Chinese Grand Prix is a colourful F1 sporting event […]

ABOUT THE UFC The Ultimate Fighting Championships is an international sports organization dedicated to mixed […]