Australian Open Tennis Championships

Publication date: 12 Aug 2022

About the Australian Open

The Australian Open Tennis Championships (known as the Australian Open) is the first of four Grand Slam tournaments held each year. It takes place in Melbourne, Australia at the Melbourne Park Tennis Centre. The tournament takes place over a 2-week period in late January and early February. Both male and female tennis players compete in nine divisions: five for adults and four for juniors. 

Official website of the Australian Open

2023 Australian Open

The 2023 Australian Open will be held from 16 to 29 January.

History of the Australian Open

The first tournament was held in Melbourne in 1905 and was called The Australasian Championships. It attracted 17 players with around 5,000 people in attendance at the final match.

In 1922, the men’s tennis team was joined by women. Margaret Molesworth was the first Australian woman to win the title. From that year onwards, the championships were held in five divisions:

  • men’s singles
  • women’s singles
  • men’s doubles
  • women’s doubles
  • mixed doubles

No mixed doubles tournaments were held from 1970 until 1985.

In 1969 a new era for tennis began. The event was opened to professionals and hence the name of the Australian Open.

Results of the previous Australian Open tennis championships

The year Venue Results
2022 Melbourne Park Sports Venue, Melbourne (Australia) men’s singles – Rafael Nadal (Spain);

women’s singles – Ashleigh Barty (Australia);

men’s doubles – Thanasi Kokkinakis (Australia)/ Nick Kyrgios (Australia);

women’s doubles – Barbora Krejčíková (Czech Republic)/ Kateřina Siniaková (Czech Republic);

mixed doubles – Kristina Mladenovic/ Ivan Dodig (Croatia).

2021 Melbourne Park Sports Venue, Melbourne (Australia) men’s singles – Novak Djokovic (Serbia);

women’s singles – Naomi Osaka (Japan);

men’s doubles – Ivan Dodig (Croatia) / Filip Polášek (Slovakia);

women’s doubles – Elise Mertens (Belgium)/Aryna Sabalenka (Belarus)

mixed doubles – Barbora Krejčíková (Czech Republic)/ Rajeev Ram (USA).

2020 Melbourne Park Sports Venue, Melbourne (Australia) men’s singles – Novak Djokovic (Serbia);

women’s singles – Sofia Kenin (USA);

men’s doubles – Rajeev Ram (USA)/ Joe Salisbury (UK);

women’s doubles – Tímea Babos (Hungary)/Kristina Mladenovic (France);

mixed doubles – Barbora Krejčíková (Czech Republic)/ Nikola Mektić (Czech Republic).

2024 Australian Open

Information on the 2024 Australian Open is still being specified

 Keep an eye on the dates of tennis tournaments and other events in our Sports Events Calendar.

Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

Read more

Why are gambling industry forecasts useful? These are not horoscopes and predictions, but data from […]

3S.INFO presents a selection of conferences and events scheduled for October 2023. We have carefully […]

October will please sports fans with bright sporting events.  This means that there will be […]

In September 2023, Uzbekistan published the results of an inspection of the advertising market. Officials […]

On 14 September 2023, the Chamber of Deputies of Brazil approved the government’s gambling bill. […]

From 2024, Sweden will intensify its fight against illegal operators. The local regulator Spelinspektionen will […]

About the Qatar Grand Prix The Qatar Grand Prix is one of the rounds of […]

The ultimate question of life, the universe and everything: how to get high conversion and […]

About the NFL The National Football League (NFL) is the largest professional league in American […]

In September 2023, new figures on the state of the Kenyan gambling market have emerged: […]