Argentine Primera División

Publication date: 31 Aug 2022

About the Primera División

Argentine Primera División (Primera División; Liga Profesional de Fútbol is the name from the 2020 season) is the Argentine professional football league for clubs in Argentina which determines the national champion and the participants in international club competitions.

The Primera División is considered to be one of the strongest championships in world football. There are 28 teams taking part in the season, all playing against each other in the same tournament.

Official website of the Argentine Primera División

2022 Argentine Primera División

The 93rd season of the professional Argentine Primera División runs from 3 June to 23 October 2023. The championship takes place in 18 cities across the country, in 30 stadiums.

History of the Primera División

Professional football championships began to be held in Argentina in 1931. From 1967 to 1985, two equally important championships were held every year: Nacional and Metropolitano.

From 1991 to 2012, separate championships were held per season. They were called the Apertura and the Clausura. The Apertura was held in the second half of the calendar year while the Clausura took place at the beginning of the following year.

In 2012, there were new changes to the championship. Apertura was renamed Inicial whereas Clausura was renamed Final. However, the format of the draw did not change. The winners of the championship competed for the title of overall season champion.

Since 2015, the championship has been held in a single calendar year.

There are six places for Argentina to qualify for the Copa Sudamericana. These include the first five teams to qualify. Clubs ranked 6 to 11 at the end of the season play in the play-offs to see who will be another representative of Argentina.

Liga Profesional de Fútbol was established in mid-2020.

Winners of the previous seasons of the Argentine Primera División

The year Venue Results/ Winning team
2021 Argentina River Plate 
2020 Argentina Boca Juniors
2019 Argentina Racing Club de Avellaneda

2023 Argentine Primera División

The next season of the the Argentine Primera División will run from January 27 to August 5. Football matches will be held at thirty stadiums in 16 cities of the country. 30 football clubs will take part in the championship.

Keep an eye on the dates of football tournaments and other events in our Sports Events Calendar.

Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

Read more

The European Athletics Championships is the largest international event in the world of athletics. This […]

The WPT Prime Sanremo is one of the most prestigious poker events in the world, […]

The BRICS Sports Games is an international multi-sport event that brings together athletes from many […]

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is one of the most exciting and popular competitions […]

The Francophonie Games (Jeux de la Francophonie) are international sporting competitions. They bring together countries […]

The World Series of Poker (WSOP) is one of the most prestigious and famous events […]

The EuroLeague is an annual competition of European professional men’s basketball clubs. Turkish Airlines is […]

The National Basketball Association (NBA) is a professional basketball league in the United States and […]

About the Chinese Grand Prix The Chinese Grand Prix is a colourful F1 sporting event […]

ABOUT THE UFC The Ultimate Fighting Championships is an international sports organization dedicated to mixed […]