Africa Cup of Nations

Publication date: 31 Aug 2022

About the Africa Cup of Nations

The Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON, African Cup of Nations) is Africa’s premier international football competition. It is organized under the management of the Confederation of African Football (CAF). Since 1968, it has been held every 2 years, while since 2013, it has been held in odd-numbered years so as not to fall in the FIFA World Cup years.

Official CAF website

2021/2022 Africa Cup of Nations

The 33rd season of AFCON with the finals held on 9 January and ending on 6 February 2022 in Cameroon.  

History of African Cup of Nations

The first Africa Cup of Nations was held in 1957 when three teams – Egypt, Sudan and Ethiopia – took part. It was won by the Egyptians. The South African team also planned to participate in the championship but due to a conflict, they refused to take part and later withdrew from the CAF. Before 1992, the South African team did not take part in international competitions on the African continent.

In 1992, the number of participants in the tournament increased to 12. The reason for this was the growing popularity of football in Africa.

In 1996, the tournament was transferred to South Africa resulting in the number of teams participating in the tournament being 16.

Previous winners of the Africa Cup of Nations

The year Venue Results/ Winning team
2022 Cameroon Senegal national football team
2019 Egypt Algeria national football team
2017 Gabon Cameroon national football team

2023 Africa Cup of Nations

The 34th season of African Cup of Nations was planned to take place in autumn 2023 in the Republic of Côte d’Ivoire. On 3 July 2022, it was reported that the tournament was postponed until 2024 due to weather conditions. According to preliminary information, 24 teams will take part in the tournament.

Keep an eye on the dates of football tournaments and other events in our Sports Events Calendar.

Did you like the article?

Share it with your friends via favorite social media

Read more

On 14 September 2023, the Chamber of Deputies of Brazil approved the government’s gambling bill. […]

From 2024, Sweden will intensify its fight against illegal operators. The local regulator Spelinspektionen will […]

About the Qatar Grand Prix The Qatar Grand Prix is one of the rounds of […]

The ultimate question of life, the universe and everything: how to get high conversion and […]

About the NFL The National Football League (NFL) is the largest professional league in American […]

In September 2023, new figures on the state of the Kenyan gambling market have emerged: […]

August has passed and brought a lot of new and interesting things. On 3S.INFO we […]

On 1 September 2023, the Ministry of Finance published new figures: for 7 months (and […]

About the European Baseball Championship The European Baseball Championship (Eurobaseball) is the main tournament among […]

About the Cup of the 100th Anniversary of National Volleyball The BETCITY Centennial Cup is […]